Multiply Movement

Some have asked me what I enjoy most about ministry. I think that’s a really difficult question to answer because there are a lot of things I enjoy. Primarily though, I enjoy teaching others about God, His Son; Jesus, and His Word. Yet in that I find that I enjoy teaching one on one or in smaller groups a little bit more than I enjoy teaching larger groups. There is just something about learning and growing together and being used by God to help facilitate growth in someone that is so enriching and encouraging. 

Before Jesus ascended to heaven He told us to “Go and Make disciples of all nations…”(Matt 28:18-20). I found that I love obeying this command. It’s not just I am obeying what Jesus has called us to do, but rather that I find joy in the process of obedience, and in the process of making disciples. My greatest joys and my greatest disappointments have generally come from the working out of this command, or the failure on my part to follow through with this command.

I’m writing this to say that not only are we commanded to make disciples but that we receive so much benefit when we obey. Some might raise the question, well what is discipleship? Might best attempt at answering that question would go something like this,
“discipleship is – one person who has walked(lived, followed, loved, and obeyed) with Jesus longer sharing with another person how to walk (live, follow, love, obey) with Jesus in every aspect of their life, using God’s Holy Word as the guide book to influence their life.”  In essence its sharing one’s own life with someone, like Jesus did with His disciples, and using the Bible to influence their life as it has influenced yours.

 

Some might think that this is difficult and they don’t know where to begin. Recently I have come across a free discipleship program called “Multiply Movement” that I found to be solid and a great place to start. They have video’s, a book, an other resources all available on the web for free. They do a good job of explaining what the material is about, and how to use it, so I won’t go into detail. I’ve posted a video about it below and would encourage you to check it out on your own at http://www.multiplymovement.com

About thatimaybegraftedin

I try and live as one who takes the Bible literally. With that said I believe Christ will come back one day soon and I don't want to be doing anything He wouldn't want me to do...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

