Isaiah 37

As I’ve been reading through the book of Isaiah I came upon a passage in chapter 37 that I thought I would share. The Assyrian army is encamped around Jerusalem and Hezekiah has called upon God for deliverance. In verse 26 God tells us that “Have you not heard that I determined it long ago? I planned from days of old what I now bring to pass, that you should make fortified cities crash into heaps of ruins…”

God had ordained that Assyrians would march against Israel and destroy many cities. He had planned it from long ago. 

In verse 29 we read that, “because you have raged against me.  and your complacency has come to my ears, I will put my hook in your nose and my bit in your mouth, and I will turn you back on the way by which you came”.

God is in complete control of raging armies. He tells them where to go and what to do. He tells them when to turn back. In fact in this case it was The Angel of the Lord (Jesus) that comes out and destroys 185,000 of them and they flee. 

If God so controls the political realm of the entire earth, and has planned it from long ago. why then do I not trust Him for my meager needs? This is the question that I have been asking myself. We so often make plans and ask God to bless them, when we should let God plan and we follow. His plans will bring blessing. His plans are better than ours. I’m thankful for a God that controls the paths of kings yet cares enough to make the path straight for me. 

About thatimaybegraftedin

I try and live as one who takes the Bible literally. With that said I believe Christ will come back one day soon and I don't want to be doing anything He wouldn't want me to do...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

