The Nature of True Faith Part 4 (and closing)

This is our last post on the Nature of True Faith.

Our Fourth and final point is that “True Faith is Following Faith” We see that specifically in  Vs 28-30 of Luke Chapter 18.

Simon Peter is known for speaking up. Here is says, “see we’ve left our homes and followed you. Going back to the rich young ruler, this was something that he wasn’t willing to do. He didn’t want to leave his home and follow Jesus. That’s what Jesus asked he was unwilling to do it. I think Peter sort of wants some reassurance here. He says look, we did what you asked this man to do, will we inherit eternal life then?

What Jesus says is remarkable.

Luk 18:29  And he said to them, “Truly, I say to you, there is no one who has left house or wife or brothers or parents or children, for the sake of the kingdom of God, who will not receive many times more in this time, and in the age to come eternal life.”

Jesus does in fact reassure them of their eternal life. If they truly have left the things of this world for the sake of kingdom of God, then they will receive more in this life and in the life to come. I don’t think this is a magic fulfillment formula. That if we forsake our house and family then we receive back in the exact same way.

What I take this to mean is that if you seek God’s kingdom first, then all things will be added unto you. I don’t think Jesus is necessarily saying we have to literally leave our house and family for His kingdom. What I do take Him to mean is that we need to love Him more than our house and our family. We need to find our security in Him more than our house and our family and our stuff.

True faith is a faith is willing to give up everything and follow Jesus.

I feel a lot of times like I get this backwards. I want to take Jesus with me wherever I want to go. If I’m going to go play soccer, I’ll pray before the game. Or I’m doing school and it’s hard so I’ll pray. While there’s nothing wrong with that necessarily, I think for me I probably needed to pray before I even make the decision to go play soccer. I needed to ask Him is this something you’d have me do? And if so, how can I do it for your glory? I need to seek Him first in making these decisions, not just do what I want to do because I want to do it and then ask Jesus to bless what I’m doing.

Let me ask you this, if Jesus called you to go, to pick up and move somewhere else to do something for His kingdom, would you do it? I’m not talking about something glamorous or something great. Rather just something ordinary, but something that made an impact for Christ, would you do it? If we can’t answer that question with a yes, then we need to evaluate our lives and see if we really are following Jesus or if we are merely asking Jesus to follow us.

It takes faith though. It’s hard to say I’ll go where you want me Lord. But True Faith is following Faith. It’s completely trusting in Jesus for every aspect of your life and every decision that you make.

One of my favorite verses is 2 Peter 1:3 which says,

His divine power has granted to us all things that pertain to life and godliness, through the knowledge of him who called us to his own glory and excellence,”

God has given us everything we need for life through the knowledge of Jesus. If we know Jesus, if we seek Jesus, if we love Jesus, if we follow Jesus, the Bible says we have everything we need.

So part of the nature of true faith is a repentant humble faith that sees oneself as a sinner in need of a savior. Another aspect is that it is simple faith that is wholly dependent on Christ for everything we need. Thirdly it is impossible faith because it comes from the Holy Spirit and results in doing impossible or supernatural things.  Lastly it is following faith since one must follow Christ in order to be saved.

I hope these blogs have been good to reassure you in your own faith or to help you see areas that maybe you need to work on. I know for me it has shown areas of weakness in my life where I can live a life of faith in Christ for His glory better than I am doing now. I pray that each one of us will consider what it means to have faith in Christ and to love Him first and foremost.

My prayer for all of us is that when we get to heaven Christ will say “well done my good and faithful servant”, and not “oh you of little faith”.

About thatimaybegraftedin

I try and live as one who takes the Bible literally. With that said I believe Christ will come back one day soon and I don't want to be doing anything He wouldn't want me to do...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

