Honor the Emperor

Lately it seems that I’ve seen an increasing number of Facebook posts, twitters, and other media that poke fun of, or in other ways dishonor President Obama. After President Obama was re-elected I saw this and I am continuing to see it. This saddens me. It saddens me because I believe it goes against what God has told us to do. It saddens me because it is disrespectful. It saddens me because it hurts our Christian witness.

I don’t agree with a lot of what President Obama does or is doing or most likely will do. I have not voted for him. Yet, God is the one who puts “kings” in place. God is the one who rules the universe. I don’t put my trust in one man to “restore America”.

Do the choices that Obama makes, or the ideologies that He supports sadden me? Yes. His pro-choice stance saddens me. His support of same-sex marriage saddens me. His position on the Israeli-Palestine conflict saddens me. (This is all coming from someone who views himself relatively uninformed in the political realm).

Just because I don’t agree doesn’t give me the right to be disrespectful to him. That’s one lesson that I learned from my parents. It’s okay to voice your concerns or to make your view known. It’s okay to disagree. I ask that you do so with respect. That you do so in a way that Honor’s the President. I ask that you in fact call Him Mr. President, or President Obama.  That your refrain from being overly critical.

Why do I ask these things? I believe the Bible tells us too. There are a number of passages on submitting to authorities that are helpful, Romans 13 being very informative. But 1 Peter 2 is where I get the title from.

1Pe 2:13 Be subject for the Lord’s sake to every human institution, whether it be to the emperor as supreme,
1Pe 2:14 or to governors as sent by him to punish those who do evil and to praise those who do good.
1Pe 2:15 For this is the will of God, that by doing good you should put to silence the ignorance of foolish people.
1Pe 2:16 Live as people who are free, not using your freedom as a cover-up for evil, but living as servants of God.
1Pe 2:17 Honor everyone. Love the brotherhood. Fear God. Honor the emperor.

I’m not going to exposit this. I’m not going to tell you what it means. I believe you can do that for yourself. I just want to point out one thing. If Peter is telling his readers to “Honor the Emperor”, who was Nero at that time, how much more should we honor our President in a land that is much more free than in Peter’s day?

If you don’t know much about Nero I’d encourage you to look him up. He was not a moral man. He was not a good emperor. He persecuted Christians. Yet, Peter tells his readers to “honor” him.

Be careful in what you post, re-post, twit, talk, and in how you say things. God wants us to be honoring to President Obama.

About thatimaybegraftedin

I try and live as one who takes the Bible literally. With that said I believe Christ will come back one day soon and I don't want to be doing anything He wouldn't want me to do...
This entry was posted in Musings from a Young Pastor. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

