It’s better than sleep

When I was a kid I used to wake up at 6 am on Saturday’s to watch cartoons. It was the only day of the week that we were allowed to watch TV in the morning so I would make the most of it. As I grew up I transitioned from watching cartoons to watching Saturday morning soccer matches, sometimes as many as 3 in a row.

Contrary to the normal pattern for college students, I found that my most productive hours were generally early in the morning. If I had a big test, it did me no good to stay up past 12 and study. I could go to sleep and wake up at 6 and start studying and be much more efficient.

For me there is just something about the mornings that I love. I love the quietness. I love that I don’t have all the distractions of the day in my head. It generally seems that I have the most energy (with the help of coffee), and the most concentration in the morning. This is when I generally have my best and brightest thoughts as well.

I understand that a lot of people aren’t like me. They are more the night owl type. That’s great. Yet, I would challenge you whether you are a night person, or a morning person to find time to be still before God.

As I read through the Bible I see more and more that many people in the Bible appreciated the morning hours like I do. One such person was Joshua. If you read the book of Joshua you’ll see that at least 5 times it says that “Joshua arose early in the morning…” He then generally went out and did something.

Abraham, Job, Moses, and David all rose early and went out.

Psa 90:14  Satisfy us in the morning with your steadfast love, that we may rejoice and be glad all our days.

You don’t HAVE to be a morning person to be a morning person. What I mean by that is two things.

  1. You can train yourself to be a morning person by discipline and coffee (okay maybe not every person needs coffee).
  2. You can have your “morning” any time of day if you are disciplined to do it.

We all should be “morning” people, in the sense that we take time to spend with God, un-distracted.  I find that easier to do in the morning (with coffee :). Some might find that easier at night. Whichever is the case make time to sit and reflect before God, to pray to God for your day, to listen to what God has to say, and to make your heart right before Him.

There is something about the quietness of a morning that will refresh your soul. Get up and make the most of it. I assure you, it’s better than sleep.

About thatimaybegraftedin

I try and live as one who takes the Bible literally. With that said I believe Christ will come back one day soon and I don't want to be doing anything He wouldn't want me to do...
This entry was posted in Musings from a Young Pastor. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

