The Resurrection

When we think about Easter, what is one of the first things we think about? Eggs? Easter bunnies? Jesus’ Death? Easter Ham? The resurrection?

Growing up I learned that Jesus died for my sins on the cross. I learned that He took God’s wrath that I deserved for my sin and died the death that I deserved. I learned that If I accepted that He did this then I could be saved and live forever with Him in heaven.

While all that is certainly true, it wasn’t until my senior year in college, my last semester, that I really saw the importance of the resurrection. If Jesus died, and did not rise again on the third day then there is no such thing as Christianity. I learned about our risen savior, who is Lord over all the earth, and proclaimed victory over death, so that we do not need to fear death, nor what happens after.

This entirely changed my perspective on Easter. I don’t want to de-emphasize Jesus’ death, but I do want stress how important Jesus’ resurrection is.

1Co 15:14  And if Christ has not been raised, then our preaching is in vain and your faith is in vain.

1Co 15:15  We are even found to be misrepresenting God, because we testified about God that he raised Christ, whom he did not raise if it is true that the dead are not raised.

1Co 15:16  For if the dead are not raised, not even Christ has been raised.

1Co 15:17  And if Christ has not been raised, your faith is futile and you are still in your sins.

If Christ was not raised then we have no faith. But not only that, if Christ was not raised, then we have no life. See His resurrection proves that He has power over death, and shows us that we too can have life eternal.

Rom 6:3  Do you not know that all of us who have been baptized into Christ Jesus were baptized into his death?

Rom 6:4  We were buried therefore with him by baptism into death, in order that, just as Christ was raised from the dead by the glory of the Father, we too might walk in newness of life.

This newness of life isn’t just the hope that is heaven, but is a new life here on earth. We as Christians have been made a new creation, the old has gone, the new has come. We aren’t the same as we once were. We have the Holy Spirit living inside and are able to live different lives then we once did. Lives dedicated to God.

When we believe in the Lord Jesus Christ for our salvation, we don’t just believe in His death, we also believe in His resurrection; the resurrection that proves that He is Lord of all. We then submit to Him as Lord and savior and live our lives in humble submission and in relationship with Him. He then empowers us through His Spirit to live how He wants us to live, according to His Word.

About thatimaybegraftedin

I try and live as one who takes the Bible literally. With that said I believe Christ will come back one day soon and I don't want to be doing anything He wouldn't want me to do...
Aside | This entry was posted in Musings from a Young Pastor. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Resurrection

  1. Sunshine says:

    Pastor Tyler, honored to have you as my son’s youth leader. Great post!

Leave a Reply

