In 5 years time?

Where do you see yourself in 5 years time? Traveling the globe? Married with 2.5 kids? Pursuing that elusive job or promotion? Serving in the church?

If you would have asked me 5 years ago where I would be in 5 years I think my response would have been one of those, if not all of them. Well in the past 5 years I have done some globe traveling (and plan to do some more next month). STILL not married and no kids (that’s okay though). Not really pursuing a job or promotion. But I am definitely serving in the church.

God has a great sense of humor. I never in my wildest dreams though I would end up living in Ironwood Michigan and serve a church in Hurley Wisconsin (that’s mostly because I didn’t know they existed). But what  joy it has been over the past 5 years to trust God. I trusted God that He had a plan for me going to The Master’s College. I trusted God that He had a reason for me to get a degree in Biblical Exposition. I trusted God that He had a purpose for sending me overseas last summer. I trusted God that He had a reason to send me back home for the year. And I finally trusted God to bring me here for the summer and now for who knows long.

I can’t say I trusted Him perfectly. I know I doubted everyone of those decisions at one(or multiple) time. But God is good. He gives grace for when we fail. He gives gifts for us to use. He loves us even when we don’t love Him. It so awesome to think that the same God who has led me to where I am today will lead me wherever He has me next. All I have to do is being willing to follow. To follow a God who created the world. Who upholds the world. Who knows everything in the world. Who can be everywhere in the world. Who named the stars. Who knows my thoughts, dreams and ambitions. Who has spoken through His Word saying that “And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose.”.

All things work together for GOOD. It may not be easy to trust. But our God is completely trustworthy. He will not fail. Just be willing to follow. Don’t be prideful. Allow Him to lead to where He wants you to be. I guarantee you will be happy with where that is. There is nothing better than following the will of God for your life. Focus on Him.

So where do I see myself in 5 years time? Right where God wants me to be!

About thatimaybegraftedin

I try and live as one who takes the Bible literally. With that said I believe Christ will come back one day soon and I don't want to be doing anything He wouldn't want me to do...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

