Baccalaureate and a reason for everything…

Last fall I was approached by a man I have known for a few years now to start thinking about coaching boys high school soccer with him in the spring. Since I love soccer I started to think about it and decided that it would be a good idea. I applied. Soon thereafter I had an interview and was hired. The man who approached me was the head coach and I was the assistant. The season came and went and I had a great time. I learned a lot about coaching and about high school boys. 😉

The whole time I was coaching I was trying to figure out the reason I was there. Sure I was learning. But I know God has a purpose for everything. It was really hard for me to be around crass high school boys every day. Being that it was a public high school I couldn’t openly share my faith, unless I was asked about it. But I never was. Sure there were a few small conversations I had with a couple boys. But I never got the chance to share like I had hoped. Was I having an impact? Probably. I hope they could see from the way I acted that I was different. But still I was hoping for more.

I started to pray. I said Lord “I know you have a purpose for me here. I would maybe like to know what that is if it’s okay with you :).”

After our last game, I was approached by one of the seniors moms. She says this, “I’ve seen the way you act on the sidelines, and the way the boys absolutely love you, and how you are such a good influence on them, and I’m on the committee of senior parents. We are putting together the Baccalaureate and I am supposed to find a speaker. This might sound silly but I was praying about it this morning and your name popped into my head. would you like to speak at our baccalaureate?”

BAM! Thanks GOD! There was my answer. God had a purpose for me far greater than I could have imagined. Not only did I get to influence 30 young men with my life, but I got to openly preach the gospel in a public school.

Last Sunday was the baccalaureate. I had 15 minutes to preach to the graduates and their families. I spoke on Ecclesiastes 12:13-1,

“13The end of the matter; all has been heard. Fear God and keep his commandments, for this is the whole duty of man. 14ForGod will bring every deed into judgment, with every secret thing, whether good or evil.”

It gets better. When I arrived there were about 40 chairs set up. I was slightly disappointed that there wouldn’t be more people. However,  people started to flood the place. I think there was somewhere around 120-150 people there by the time they had put out all the extra chairs.

I got up gave my speech and then sat down. A young man played his saxophone. Then the head football coach got up to speak. He gave the top ten things he wishes somebody told him when He was graduating high school. I was super bummed at this point because He wasn’t saying anything about Christ. He was a great speaker. Super funny, and very charismatic, all the things I wasn’t when I spoke.

As the evening ended a man stood up to close us in prayer. And praise be to God he pointed everyone back to what I had spoken about. IT was awesome.

God has purpose for everything.

 

About thatimaybegraftedin

I try and live as one who takes the Bible literally. With that said I believe Christ will come back one day soon and I don't want to be doing anything He wouldn't want me to do...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

