R u n th Wrd?

Within the confines of the technological advances of the 21st century we find ourselves more enslaved to technology than any previous generation. We are a generation of ease. We like things fast. I’m talking milliseconds fast. Cell phones do more now than computers could do 5 years ago.  We can surf, text, pic, tweet, post, play, and dare I say talk on a device that will fit into our pockets.

Lost in the midst of this great technological conquest is a virtue called patience. At my work I was reminded by a student that patience is a virtue. While he said it as an excuse for his own laziness, in my incessant urging him to get to class I caught myself trapped in the mindset of my culture. I like things fast and I don’t like to wait.

So in my walk with Christ I find myself trying to break the shackles of my culture and simply “being still” before God. I find myself saying no to the pressure of the “get it now” mentality.

We as Christians need to fight this trend. While I encourage you to seek patience in your dealings with others, I implore you to be patient in your dealings with God. His timing is perfect. Do not take shortcuts. Study the Word. I exhort you to “be still and know that He is God.” Slow down. Rest (God did). Refresh yourself in the Word. Be patient in your reading of scripture. It takes time. It can be difficult. You can’t just pop yourself in the Microwave of truth and come out 3 minutes later hot and fire for God.

Turn your technology off and seek God. Are you in the Word?

About thatimaybegraftedin

I try and live as one who takes the Bible literally. With that said I believe Christ will come back one day soon and I don't want to be doing anything He wouldn't want me to do...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

