Emo? (or could be entitled “feelings”)

Let’s sit down and think about how many times in a day we use words like “I feel like…” or “I don’t feel like…”. Or perhaps you don’t even use those words but rather just think them quietly in your soul. When my alarm goes off at 5 am (sometimes 530), generally one of my first thoughts is, “I don’t feel (or want) to get up”. After snoozing at least once it becomes a struggle for me to “Wake up” so I can spend a few precious moments reading my bible and praying.

Then as I go about my day there are numerous times at work where I don’t “feel” like working. After work I am tired and don’t feel like working out or doing the other things that I should (or even could) be doing. There are times where I do feel like doing things. Whether it’s the endorphins from working out, the caffeine from the coffee, or something else that gets my blood pumping, there are times where I feel great. Some would say “I feel like a million bucks).

So where do we as Christians learn to balance living in our “feelings” (or emotions), and doing what we know is the right thing? Sure I might not feel like reading my bible in the morning, but I know for me if I don’t do it then I certainly (for the most part) won’t feel like doing it later and it will get pushed off until I don’t spend time “renewing my mind” in the Word.

Or how about those times when you feel so happy you just don’t know what to do? If negative emotions are affecting our daily walk, how do positive ones affect it? Are they a good thing? I’m speaking of the emotional “highs” you can get when attending that “religious” summer camp. Or the exhilarating feeling you get after sharing the gospel with a stranger.

The bottom line is this, we are called to “walk in a manner worthy”. We are called to “Bless the Lord at all times”. We are to rejoice in the Lord always, and to pray without ceasing. God gave us emotions. They are a good thing. But there are times when we need to use our brains, and “CHOOSE” to worship Him, even when we don’t feel like it. There are also times when we need to use our brains and “CHOOSE” to discern that good things do indeed come from the Lord and we should worship Him.

His praise should be continually on our lips whether we feel like it or not. Let us choose to worship no matter our emotions, and no matter the cost. He is worth it.

About thatimaybegraftedin

I try and live as one who takes the Bible literally. With that said I believe Christ will come back one day soon and I don't want to be doing anything He wouldn't want me to do...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

